Chances are you missed the fine print. Just before Thanksgiving, Uber, the popular ride-sharing company, was changing its terms of use to include a mandatory arbitration clause that now makes it harder for drivers to sue the company in the event of a crash. Now we are good in January and it is likely that you have accepted these conditions. That doesn`t mean you don`t need to know what those terms mean. At the end of December, drivers had the opportunity to express themselves through the new terms-of-use agreement. Since then, you have probably accepted these terms without knowing it. If you want to try it, you can send optout@uber.com with your name and the terms of use you want to cancel by email. You can also send a letter with the same information to a registered agent. This means that you are subject to the old terms of use that do not have an effective mandatory arbitration clause. Instinctively, consumers should always opt-out new terms of use when they contain a mandatory compromise clause. You never want to give up your right to take legal action against a company. Arbitration might be faster, cheaper, but it denies your ability to have a fair hearing if that`s the path you want to take.

The quintessentth, whether it`s Uber or anyone else, is that you always need to know the new terms of use, as they could end up costing you some of your rights as a consumer. Opinions, advice, testimonials, offers or any other information or content that relates to Lyft or are provided via the Lyft platform, but not directly by our authors, are those of their respective authors and should not necessarily be abandoned. These authors are solely responsible for this content. Under no circumstances will we be liable for losses or damage resulting from your trust in information or other content published by third parties, whether on the Lyft platform or otherwise. We reserve the right, but we do not have an obligation to monitor documents published on the Lyft platform and to remove any material that we believe is contrary to the law or agreement, or that could affect the safety of users or others. What does Uber`s new terms of use agreement mean for drivers? The Lyft platform offers a marketplace where people looking for transport to specific destinations (“Riders”) can be combined with means of transport to such destinations. One of the possibilities for drivers is to ask rideshare drivers to travel to or cross these destinations (“runners”). Drivers and drivers are collectively referred to as “users” and the transportation services provided by Drivers to Riders are called Rideshare Services. As a user, you allow Lyft to compare yourself with a driver or driver based on factors such as your location, estimated pickup time, your goal of cross-referencing data and platform efficiency, and canceling an existing match and a rematch based on the same considerations. Any decision by a user to offer or accept rideshare sharing services is a decision made at that user`s sole discretion.